More Than You Can Handle

Have you ever heard someone say, “God will never put more on you than you can handle”?

We hear it all the time in Christian circles.  Yet, it’s simply not biblical.  Unfortunately, this myth contributes to many Christians thinking that something is wrong with them when troubles begin piling up and they can’t handle their problems.

Often, when the first trickle of trouble begins, we think we can handle it.

Confident in our own abilities and resources, we work in our own strength, telling the Lord, “I’ve got this.  I’m OK.”

But before long, we’re singing the same tune as the beleaguered psalmist who said, troubles without number surround me and and I cannot see!

And this:  Save me, O God, for the waters have come up to my neck!.

Yes, there is the verse that tells us we will not be “tempted beyond what you can bear” (1 Corinthians 10:13), but this is referring to temptation.  The Bible makes it clear that God did indeed give some of His servants more than they could endure.

Listen to Paul’s report:

We do not want you to be uninformed, brothers, about the hardships we suffered in the province of Asia.  We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired even of life.  Indeed, in our hearts we felt the sentence of death.  But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead (2 Corinthians 1:8-9).

Sometimes when troubles are too much to handle, some folks wonder if God is getting them back for some past sin.  Listen, friend, it’s a fallen world and sometimes the world falls in on us.

In suffering, He’s not getting back at you; rather He’s getting you back to Himself.

Suffering is meant to teach us our need for God again.  During these times we have nowhere else to turn, except towards Him.

Go back to Paul’s verse.  He says, “but this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead.”  (2 Corinthians 1:9).

If you think you can’t handle your problems, congratulations!  You’re right!

If you could handle your problems, who would get the glory?  You!

He leads us into the desert so that He alone can be our sufficiency.  Then the glory is all His.

Focus and rely on the power of God and let Him have His way during your storm. 

The storm is not to destroy you.

The storm is to bring you to Him, to build your trust and confidence in the One who can calm the storm.

Jesus said, “Apart from me you can do nothing.” I don’t know what you’re facing today, but I do know this: The Lord is calling you to cast yourself, in humble reliance, on Jesus and ask Him to do what only He can do.

He longs to show you his glory.

In the candy factory today?  Stop trying to handle it yourself.  Remember the old song you learned in preschool:

Jesus loves me, this I know…for the Bible tells me so….little ones to Him belong…they are weak, but He is strong.                                                                     

11 thoughts on “More Than You Can Handle

  1. Thanks Connie.
    Allison and I were just talking about this.
    The comment was said about Pam by a friend which led to a discussion about the statement.

    Like

      • Connie,
        I think I need to print this and have it ready.
        Can’t believe how many say this, even those that teach the Word.
        Just had a conversation and I was ready!
        It’s been a while since your last post. 🙂
        What’s next?

        Like

      • You’re free to print and use as you see fit.

        Did you catch my last post on “outdoor dining”? It’s sooooo deep and profound! 🙂 Ha! I’ll try to be a little deeper next time! Actually, working on a post about reading statistics for 3rd graders and how it predicts how many prison beds are needed in “x” number of years….it’s turned me upside down! Praying for many “reading mentors” in Pleasant Hill!

        Like

  2. I believe you and I had a conversation about this one time! That phrase has always bothered me, so thanks for the insight Connie. Great article.

    Like

  3. Pingback: “When It’s More Than You Can Handle”: Replacing 5 Lies with Truth (#1) | The Official Blog of Connie Carey

Leave a comment