Lie #4: “I’ll be a hypocrite if I praise God without feeling like it.”

It’s day four of our week long series “When It’s More Than You Can Handle:  Replacing Lies with Truth”.

Today we address

LIE #4:  I’ll be a hypocrite if I praise God without true joy or feeling like it.  

TRUTH: No you won’t. Would you be a hypocrite if you did something kind today, when you weren’t feeling kind?  No.

God calls you to “rejoice in the Lord always” (Philippians 4:4).  He added the word “always” because He knew that you and I would interpret the verse “whenever you feel like it”.

When I lost my father to suicide, I sensed strongly that I was at a fork in the road.  I could slide into the abyss of disillusionment, bitterness and despair.  Or I could crawl up into my heavenly Father’s lap, confess the dark storm of feelings that were raging in me,  and then simply praise Him.  It was ugly praise to me.  There was a lot of snot involved.  But God tells us that He inhabits the praises of His people.  As I offered my confused, broken hallelujas to Him,  He pulled me out of that miry pit.

I don’t know what you face today, so please know that I say this very gently and not flippantly;  it is your calling to praise Him.

Now.

In the pit.

The powers of darkness are most confounded when the Christian looks up from the ash heap and praises God in the midst of circumstances she does not necessarily understand.  If you confess to God that you don’t feel thankful while you suffer and ask Him earnestly to help you with those feelings as you praise Him,  you are not being a hypocrite.  You are being a true Christian, much like the Centurion who cried, “Lord, I do believe…help my unbelief!”

To read about Lies 1, 2, or 3, click on the links below:

Lie #1: This trial is going to destroy me and I may lose my faith.

Lie #2: God must be getting back at me for some past sin.

Lie #3: There is no purpose in this trial.

One thought on “Lie #4: “I’ll be a hypocrite if I praise God without feeling like it.”

  1. Pingback: Lie #5: “God can’t use me until my suffering is over.” | The Official Blog of Connie Carey

Leave a Reply

