Four Tips to go from “Out of Whack” to “Back on Track” After the Holidays

I hope you had a wonderful, blessed holiday season!

walk-along-railroad-tracksI love Thanksgiving and Christmas, but confess with all the heavy food, rainy weather, being off-schedule and out of the habit of exercise, I’ve felt a bit out of whack.  My usual (somewhat) healthy routine has been DERAILED. Bleh. Well, today, I’m sharing with you what I’m doing to get back on track before the new year.

  1. Get moving.  I’m treating myself to a walk every day this week and it feels FANTASTIC.  Even if the weather doesn’t cooperate, I still get in a walk at the local mall.  I’ve also ordered a new work-out DVD.  My current ones have gotten a little stale and maybe my body has plateaued with the repetition, so a new one is on it’s way, just to shake it up a little.  Also, my fitness tracker died on December 1, so I got a new one.  I use the Jawbone UP.  It’s amazing how motivational it can be to watch my steps add up during the day.
  2. Throw out the holiday junk food.  Throw it away, give it away or take it to the office.  Healthy choices are so much easier when I eliminate the temptation by getting it out of the house.
  3. Drink that water. Water helps with weight loss, energizes muscles, helps keep skin looking good and helps rid the body of toxins.   (Wow. I think I’ll have a glass right now!)
  4. Make this delicious Detox Soup.  This is my go-to soup!  I love making a big pot and enjoying it for lunch throughout the following week.  It’s practically calorie free (except for whatever meat you may choose to add), full of nutrients and so easy to pull out of the fridge for a quick meal.

Delicious Detox Soup – Ingredients: 1/2 head of cabbage, 1 cup celery, 1 cup diced onion, 1 cup sliced carrots, 1 sliced green pepper, 2-3 cloves of minced garlic, 4 cups of chicken or vegetable broth, 14 ounce can of diced tomatoes, 1 teaspoon oregano, 1 teaspoon basil, 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes, few shakes of black pepper, 4 tablespoons Bragg’s Liquid Aminos.

Instructions:  Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large pot over medium heat.  Add celery, onion, bell pepper and carrots and saute until slightly tender.

Delicious Detox SoupThen add garlic and chicken or vegetable broth.  Add tomatoes and cabbage and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and cook until cabbage is tender.  (By the way, the monogrammed tile was a Christmas gift from my sister-in-law.  I love it!)

Connie's Delicious Detox Soup

Stir in oregano, basil, red pepper flakes, black pepper and salt. I usually use fresh basil and oregano from my garden, but this time of year, the basil is done.  This paste works just fine.

Connie's Delicious Detox Soup

Connie's Delicious Detox Soup

 

 

Add a few tablespoons of Bragg’s Liquid Amino to desired taste.  It’s a natural soy sauce alternative containing 16 amino acids, which fight fat and build muscle.

Adjust seasoning to taste. Add roasted chicken or lean ground beef, if you like.

Connie's Delicious Detox Soup

Above all,  SKIP THE GUILT.  Instead, start the new year fresh with these four tips and enjoy a healthier, more energetic you!

Blending music and humor, 2014 Georgia Author of the Year Connie Carey inspires her audiences to view their challenges from a renewed perspective. Her book, Falling UP, offers healing, hope and a touch of humor for hard times. For booking info, visit www.conniecarey.com.

5 thoughts on “Four Tips to go from “Out of Whack” to “Back on Track” After the Holidays

  1. Hi Connie, you should try using the Basil and Oregano doTERRA essential oils to cook with … it just takes a tiny little bit … I usually put a toothpick in the bottle and then swirl it into my soup or sauce … I am going no sugar on Sunday … true confessions … I didn’t throw out our holiday junk food … I ate it … just finished the last cookie 🙂

    Like

    • I didn’t think of that and had both basil and oregano oils. Thanks for the reminder that I can cook with my oils. Congrats on your no sugar day!…just for the day? or trying to totally leave it off? How is it going?

      Like

Leave a Reply

