A Community of Women

This past Saturday I had the privilege of joining a slate of speakers for “A Community of Women” hosted by Strong Tower Fellowship in Macon.  I want you to know my new friends as well!

B.J. Arnett, former news anchor for WXIA/NBC Atlanta who hosts the nationally televised talk show Atlanta Live, kept us on the edge of our seats as she shared from her experiences of God’s power and faithfulness.  Having cheated death three times and risen from a lifestyle far from the Lord to one of Christ-centered ministry, she challenged us to believe that we are who God says we are: righteous daughters of the King.  Told with humor and guts, her story is amazing!  As host of The Soul of Atlanta and The Beat of the City, B.J. has interviewed the likes of Lena Horne, The Judds, Danny Glover, Marie Osmond, Patti Labelle, Mrs. Rosalyn Carter, Ambassador Andrew Young and others.

Multi-talented Deborah Hightower hosted the event and led us in stirring worship. Recording artist, worship leader, speaker and financial executive, Deborah does it all with style and flair.  She has shared her gifts in a variety of venues – from intimate gatherings, mega-churches, conferences and corporate events to overflowing concert halls to television and radio to the White House. (How are we at Strong Tower so blessed as to have her each Sunday as our worship leader?)  I’m proud to call her my friend.

Kathy Hawkins, nutrition and fitness expert, equipped us with great info on taking care of our Earthsuits so that we can enjoy life to the fullest and fulfill our highest calling, glorifying God. Even though she’s fit as a fiddle, it was kind of her to admit that she has a hard time staying out of cookie dough.  She’s a girl after my own heart!

I shared what I’ve learned from my recent skydiving adventure.  “Lessons on the Way Down”….Lordy, I’m just glad I lived to tell it!

Jacqueline Scott, retired Lieutenant Colonel with the United States Air Force (can you say “kick butt”?) who now manages the office for her family’s business, Scott’s Pharmacy, brought the day to a perfect close as she shared what God has taught her in a variety of responsibilities of life.  (By the way, I’m a huge fan of Scott’s Pharmacy…they provide compounding for bio-identical hormones.)  As she reminded us of our blessings, she challenged us to bless those in our sphere of influence.

I was inspired by these gifted women.  So were the ladies of many denominations, races and walks of life who gathered together for a great day of celebrating our common bond in Christ.   It’s a day I won’t soon forget!

4 thoughts on “A Community of Women

  1. Connie, It is great to see what you are doing. I bet it is challenging to come up with a post each week. I’ve tried to do this, in some manner before, and boy does my mind go blank. Here’s to you being inspired! Love, T

    Like

Leave a Reply

